Are CEOs the Wrong Leaders for Stakeholder Capitalism?

Authors: James Heskett
HBS Working Knowledge, October 1, 2020

A year after 181 CEOs pledged their companies to better serve social goals, critics find they have failed to do so during the pandemic.

Expanding AI’s Impact with Organizational Learning

Authors: Sam Ransbotham, Shervin Khodabandeh, David Kiron, François Candelon, Michael Chu, Burt LaFountain
MITSloan Management Review, October 19, 2020

“New research shows that your organization’s odds of reporting financial benefits with AI increase to 73% when your company embraces seven learning activities. In our fourth year of researching AI with Boston Consulting Group, we find that companies that succeed with AI don’t just use AI — they learn with AI

Responding to crises with speed and agility

Authors: Bernadine J. Dykes, Margaret Hughes-Morgan, Kalin D. Kolev, and Walter J. Ferrier
MITSloan Management Review, October 15, 2020

“When faced with a crisis, companies should dial up two interdependent drivers — speed and agility — to seize opportunities.”

Capitalism is in crisis. To save it we need rethink economic growth

Authors: David Rotman
MIT Technology Review, October 14, 2020

“The failure of capitalism to solve our biggest problems is prompting many to question one of its basic precepts.”

Trolling for the Truth on Social Media

Authors: Joan Donovan
Scientific American, October 12, 2020

“What 1990s Internet protest movements share with today’s disinformation campaigns”

A new business paradigm to address climate change

Authors: Michael Raynor, Derek Pankratz
Deloitte Insight, October 16 2020

“As climate events threaten both business conditions and society in general, stakeholders are beginning to demand that companies act as responsible stewards of the earth. Which orthodoxies do leaders need to rethink right now?”

Post-COVID Capitalism

Authors: Klaus Schwab
Project syndacate, October 12, 2020

“The COVID-19 pandemic has shone a spotlight on social, economic, and environmental risks that have been building for the past half-century of neoliberalism. Even amid the deep uncertainties of today’s global situation, one thing is clear: it is time to start questioning old assumptions and developing a new paradigm.”

Time Confetti and the Broken Promise of Leisure

Authors: Ashley Whillans
Behavioral Scientist, October 7 2020

“t’s true: we have more time for leisure than we did fifty years ago. But leisure has never been less relaxing, mostly because of the disintermediating effects of our screens.”

A pratical guide to building ethical AI

Authors: Reid Blackman
Harvard Business Review, October 15, 2020

“Companies are leveraging data and artificial intelligence to create scalable solutions — but they’re also scaling their reputational, regulatory, and legal risks. For instance, Los Angeles is suing IBM for allegedly misappropriating data it collected with its ubiquitous weather app.”

What are the biggest risks for business? New data shows climate concerns are rising

Authors: Emilio Granados Franco
World Economic Forum, October 8, 2020

“An overly simplistic view of global economics has fuelled climate denial and skepticism for decades. Some opponents of climate change mitigation policies argue that achieving any progress would require an impossible retrofitting of our economy and result in lower profits and fewer jobs. In reality, in many ways, climate action will help businesses be more resilient in tomorrow’s economy.”

Empathy. The glue we need to fix a fractured world

Authors: Amy Emmert
Strategy+Business, October 20, 2020

“Stanford psychologist Jamil Zaki explains that whether we are dealing with business, politics, or personal matters, it’s possible — and advantageous — to train ourselves to be more empathic.”

Tech debt: Reclaiming tech equity

Authors: Vishal Dalal, Krish Krishnakanthan, Björn Münstermann, and Rob Patenge
McKinsey Digital, October 6, 2020

“Almost every business has some degree of tech debt; the trick is knowing how to identify, value, and manage it. ”

The Difference Between Data Science and Statistics

Authors: Matt Przybyla
Towards Data Science, October 8, 2020

“Most likely in the early 2000s, the title of Data Scientist was not thrown around in any industry, but it quickly became the hot-button phrase that has exploded in career trends of recent years. Was this really the first time we have seen a job like this? The answer is no, we have seen a very similar career present well before the emergence of Data Science. We have seen this career currently, too — that being the role of Statistician.”

The “Knowledge -creating” product organization

Authors: Steven Diffey
Product Coalition, October 15, 2020

“The most significant contributing factor in product management is knowledge. Knowledge from within ourselves, colleagues, users and our communities of practice is the most valuable asset a product organisation has.”

Our Work-from-Anywhere Future

Authors: Prithwiraj (Raj) Choudhury
HBR Magazine, Nov Dec issue, 2020

“Before 2020 a movement was brewing within knowledge-work organizations. Personal technology and digital connectivity had advanced so far and so fast that people had begun to ask, “Do we really need to be together, in an office, to do our work?” We got our answer during the pandemic lockdowns. We learned that a great many of us don’t in fact need to be colocated with colleagues on-site to do our jobs. Individuals, teams, entire workforces, can perform well while being entirely distributed—and they have. So now we face new questions: Are all-remote or majority-remote organizations the future of knowledge work? Is work from anywhere (WFA) here to stay?”

 

.