LE BUONE LETTURE IN RETE

 

The risks – Know Them – Avoid Them

Autors: Erin Bromage
Erinbromage.com, May 6, 2020

“It seems many people are breathing some relief, and I’m not sure why. An epidemic curve has a relatively predictable upslope and once the peak is reached, the back slope can also be predicted. We have robust data from the outbreaks in China and Italy, that shows the backside of the mortality curve declines slowly, with deaths persisting for months.”

A Guide to Staying Safe as States Reopen

Autors: Joe Pinsker
The Atlantic, May 7, 2020

“Can I eat at a restaurant? Can I go shopping? Can I hug my friends again? Experts weigh in”

Why Contact Tracing Could be a Mess in America

Autors: James Temple
MIT Technology Review, May 16, 2020

“High caseloads, low testing, and American attitudes toward government authority could pose serious challenges for successful efforts to track and contain coronavirus cases.”

A flood of coronavirus apps are tracing us. Now it’s time to keep track of them

Autors: Patrick Howell O’Neill, Tate Ryan-Mosley, Bobbie Johnson
MIT Technology Review, May 7, 2020

“There’s a deluge of apps that detect your covid-19 exposure, often with little transparency. Our Covid Tracing Tracker project will document them.”

Making the Best of a Post Pandemic World

Autors: Dani Rodrik
Project Syndacate, May 12, 2020

“Insofar as the world economy was already on a fragile, unsustainable path, COVID-19 clarifies the challenges we face and the decisions we must make. The fate of the world economy hinges not on what the virus does, but on how we choose to respond.”

Why Innovation Future Isn’t (Just) Open

Autors: Neil C. Thompson, Didier Bonnet, and Yun Ye
MITSloan Management Review, May 11, 2020

“Innovating with external partners doesn’t always give companies a competitive advantage. It needs to be balanced with internal efforts.”

Our weird behavior during the pandemic is messing with AI models

Autors: Will Douglas Heaven
MIT Technology Review, May 11, 2020

“Machine-learning models trained on normal behavior are showing cracks —forcing humans to step in to set them straight.”

A third of Covid-19 patients have reported neurological symptoms

Autors: Jeremy Rossman
World Economic Forum, May 12, 2020

“Several recent studies have identified the presence of neurological symptoms in COVID-19 cases. Some of these studies are case reports where symptoms are observed in individuals.”

Covid-19 could spur automation and revers globalization – to some extent

Autors: Adnan Seric, Deborah Winkler
World Economic Forum, May 11, 2020

“The current COVID-19 pandemic has fully exposed the vulnerabilities of global value chains (GVCs) which are characterised by high interdependencies between global lead firms and suppliers located across several continents.”

Carbon taxes alone won’t stop climate change

Authors: ​Ghassane Benmir, Josselin Roman
LSE Business Review, May 19, 2020

“Monetary and macroprudential authorities must help in the push for climate change mitigation strategies, write Ghassane Benmir and Josselin Roman.”

Five behavioral science lessons for managing virtual team meetings

Autors: Rachel Jaffe, Grace Lordan
LSE Business Review, May 18, 2020

“Even when they’re working online, people still rely on team interactions to create, innovate, and assess risk, write Rachel Jaffe and Grace Lordan”

Is Your Crisis Response Defensive or Proactive?

Autors: Rachael Noyes
Insead Knowledge, May 14, 2020

“Encouraging dynamic capabilities in your organisation or team can help your business find its feet, even in perilous times.”

The Post Covid-19 World Will Be Less Global and Less Urban

Autors: Jeoffrey Garrett
Knowledge@Wharton, May 13, 2020

“The COVID-19 pandemic will reverse the trends of globalization and urbanization, increasing the distance between countries and among people. These changes will make for a safer and more resilient world, but one that is also less prosperous, stable and fulfilling.”

Is Your Technology Ready for the New Digital Reality?

Autors: Karalee Close , Michael Grebe , Marc Schuuring , Benjamin Rehberg , and Matthew Leybold
BCG, May 8, 2020

“For today’s businesses, the only thing that is certain is uncertainty. COVID-19 has cast a clear and somber spotlight on the urgent need for resilience and digital capabilities. More than ever, businesses must be able to react to sudden and dramatic changes—in their supply chains, in their customer interactions, in how and where their employees work. But many companies simply aren’t there yet.”

 

.