LE BUONE LETTURE IN RETE

 

Deloitte’s 2019 Global Blockchain Survey (external link)
Authors:
Deloitte – May 6, 2019

“The blockchain story is beginning a new chapter, one in which the questions executives are asking are tougher, more granular, more grounded, and more pragmatic. The question for executives is no longer, “Will blockchain work?” but, “How can we make blockchain work for us?” ”

It’s people, not technology, that will decide the future of work (external link)
Author: Sharan Burrow
World Economic Forum – May 6, 2019

“The accelerating march of digitalisation, robotics and a plethora of technological innovations will affect production, services and life in general – in ways that are hard to predict but which will surely be profound. The challenge is to make the right decisions, putting people at the centre and technology at the service of people.”

Systems Change in Social Innovation Education (external link)
Authors: Daniela Papi-Thornton, Joshua Cubista
Stanford Social Innovation Review – May 6, 2019

“Systems change—the idea that we can design interventions that fundamentally reshape social or environmental systems that perpetuate injustice or negative results—continues to gain interest across the social sector. Indeed, the term is popping up all over social innovation and social entrepreneurship convenings, publications, and dialogues. Yet many of the educational models we use to teach social entrepreneurship and innovation fail to teach students to think critically about or build activities that contribute to systems change. ”

How Inclusive Capitalism Can Empower the Underprivileged (external link)
Interview to Gilbert Ghostine
Knowledge@Wharton – May 6, 2019

“For Switzerland-based Firmenich, understanding the needs of low-income consumers in emerging markets and coming up with business solutions to solve their problems is a core aspect of its philosophy. For instance, the company — the world’s largest privately owned firm in the fragrances and flavor business — is working in the area of sanitation. Firmenich deploys its expertise in the area of smell to understand molecules that cause malodor in public toilets and to come up with breakthrough technologies to reduce odors”

AI in business: looking beyond the hype (external link)
Author: Oliver Pickup
Raconteur – May 12, 2019

“A couple of years ago, there was a joke doing the rounds at technology conferences that AI in business is like teenagers and sex: everyone talks about it, but few actually get it. Is the ribald witticism outdated in 2019? Or has the increased hype enveloping AI that it will magically solve most business problems only further confused executives? So much so they are not engaging with AI’s myriad technologies or are left clumsily fumbling with algorithms that fail to perform, while cannier rivals score big. Moreover, has the crucial point that AI in business is best utilised as a means of achieving very specific, narrow-focused objectives, and is not an end point in itself, been obscured by the sheer volume of misleading buzz?”

Three keys to faster, better decisions (external link)
Authors: Aaron De Smet, Gregor Jost, and Leigh Weiss
McKinsey – May, 2019

“Decision makers fed up with slow or subpar results take heart. Three practices can help improve decision making and convince skeptical business leaders that there is life after death by committee.”

How to Become a Strategic Leader (external link)
Author: Julie Zhuo
MITSloan Management Review – May 6, 2019

“My career at Facebook started in 2006 as its first intern. Three years later, I became a rookie manager at the age of 25. Today, I manage an organization of hundreds of people. This path has brought countless new challenges, mistakes, and lessons, many of which are laid out in my new book, The Making of a Manager, a field guide for new managers. One of the key areas of growth for me as a manager was strategy. As I progressed in my career, I knew that there was an expectation that the work I did would become increasingly strategic.”

The World in 2030: Nine Megatrents to Watch (external link)
Author: Andrew S. Winston
MITSloan Management Review – May 7, 2019

“I don’t usually play the futurist game — I’m more of a “presentist,” looking at the data we have right now on fast-moving megatrends that shape the world today. But a client asked me to paint a picture of what the big trends tell us about 2030. And I’d say we do have some strong indications of where we could be in 11 years.
The directions we go and choices we make will have enormous impacts on our lives, careers, businesses, and the world. Here are my predictions of how nine important trends will evolve by 2030 — listed in order roughly from nearly certain to very likely to hard to say.”

Leading your organization to responsible AI (external link)
Authors: Roger Burkhardt, Nicolas Hohn, and Chris Wigley
McKinsey – May, 2019

“CEOs often live by the numbers—profit, earnings before interest and taxes, shareholder returns. These data often serve as hard evidence of CEO success or failure, but they’re certainly not the only measures. Among the softer, but equally important, success factors: making sound decisions that not only lead to the creation of value but also “do no harm. While artificial intelligence (AI) is quickly becoming a new tool in the CEO tool belt to drive revenues and profitability, it has also become clear that deploying AI requires careful management to prevent unintentional but significant damage, not only to brand reputation but, more important, to workers, individuals, and society as a whole.”

User-generated Content: The Medium Impacts the Message (external link)
Interview to Shiri Melumad
Knowledge@Wharton – May 7, 2019

“In her latest research, Wharton marketing professor Shiri Melumad finds that consumers who write out their thoughts on smartphones tend to be more emotional than those who wait until they get home to type on their personal computers. Her findings have implications for both marketers and consumers who rely on user-generated content to inform their decisions.”

PILLOLE VIDEO DA YOUTUBE

Andy Chan – Artificial Intelligence and the future of work

Andy Chan is a Product Manager at Infinia ML, an artificial intelligence company that builds custom algorithms and software for Fortune 500 companies. He currently leads the design, development, and execution of the company’s AI strategies. Prior to Infinia ML, Andy was a Senior Product Manager at Avalara and helped the company go public in June 2018.

 

.